Our history

 
Bethel CRC was organized in 1922 to become a second Christian Reformed congregation in Sioux Center. The name "Bethel" was officially adopted in 1955. Our gracious God has provided a constant succession of faithful pastors throughout the years, and the result is that we have been confessing Christ and proclaiming the Gospel for more than 90 years.
 
Our current sanctuary was dedicated in the late 1960s and our organ in the mid-1980s. Our classrooms, nurseries, GEMS and cadets rooms, office and library as well as the kitchen were part of our 12,000-square-foot addition that was dedicated July 1, 2012.
 
We have endeavored to use these gifts to carry out a vibrant ministry to the glory of God. From the days of horse and buggy to the present day of global travel, we have lived in the grace and mercy of God in Christ, sharing one another's burdens and rejoicing to see our covenant children profess the faith once for all entrusted to the church, and sharing the Gospel in word and deed with neighbors nearby and far away.